We are excited to host the 2024 ABMK Provincial Convention!! 
See ABMK 2024 for details.

2024 Convention

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

2024 Convention

Calgary South Councils hosted the 102nd Annual Calgary Diocesan Convention on May 3-5, 2024 at the Holiday Inn & Suites, Calgary South Conference Centre.


Read the 2023 Annual Report Booklet.

The following oral reports are for 2024 and are different from the booklet:

Diocesan Officers Oral Reports:

Regional Chair Oral Reports:

Pre-convention Meeting

164 members, Spiritual Advisors, and guests were present on Friday. There were 25 first-time attendees.

Spiritual Development Chair Theresa Duncan opened with the Spiritual Program: singing the "Servant Song," followed by praying with the Icon of our Lady of Perpetual Help. The program concluded with the League Prayer.

President Renee Spohn acknowledged the Honorary Life Members, Life Members, Past Diocesan Presidents, Diocesan Officers, and Diocesan Spiritual Advisor, the five Regional Chairs, Parish Spiritual Advisors, and Parish Council Presidents.

Minutes of the 2023 Fall Meeting were adopted as circulated. 

Guest Speaker – Dr. Bonnie Annicchiarico spoke on the parish renewal in the diocese and presented the workshop: "You are Called. You Matter! You Belong!"

ABMK President Mary Hunt reviewed the provincial council's work in 2023 and invited everyone to attend the 2024 Provincial Convention in Calgary.

Guest Speaker – Rev. Tim Boyle was ordained to the priesthood on October 12, 1974. He spoke on the Family of Origin and Seekers.

Guest Speaker – Dr. Peter Baltutis spoke on the "Church as a Potluck Dinner: New Models of Being a Church of Encounter and Witness." Church is the people of God. Our churches must become communities where everyone is encouraged to share their gifts with each other.

  • What does my community do well? How can I support these ministries?
  • What does my community NOT do well (gaps in ministry)? Rather than criticizing, how can I be part of the solution?
  • Ask not what your church can do for you; ask what you can do for your church.
  • Unity does not mean uniformity. Not everything is for you (and that's okay). Do we allow space for everyone to contribute equally to our community? Are we creating space for the seekers?
  • Face-to-face conversations prevent polarization.

The Friday "Community Collection" raised $2,041 for the Calgary Catholic Immigration Society. Donations support immigrants and refugees with services from basic needs to housing, language, education, employment training, and more.

Linda Vienneau of St. George, Hanna won the Friday "Early Bird" gift basket.

Lethbridge Regional Chair Eileen Peta invited everyone to the Fall Meeting on September 28, 2024, and the 103rd Annual Calgary Diocesan Convention on May 2-4, 2025 in Lethbridge.

102nd Annual Convention

125 people, including 84 delegates, were present on Saturday. The day began with a Memorial Service for deceased members and spiritual advisors who have gone before us. We thank God for the gifts they shared with us.

Book of Life

Diocesan Spiritual Advisor, Rev. Pilmaikén Lezano, reflected on "Called by Name to Community."

The Diocesan Officer and Regional Chair reports were presented as above.

The Saturday "Memorial Service Collection" raised $1,783.50 for the Diocese of Calgary - Vocations Ministry. Donations support seminarians in their call to the diocesan priesthood, men enrolled in the permanent diaconate program, and women and men discerning their call to consecrated life.

Donna Suderman of St. Cecilia's, Calgary won the Saturday "Early Bird" gift basket.

Nominations for the Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Officers took place.

The following Diocesan Officers were elected to serve on Calgary Diocesan Council in 2024-2026:

  • President – Kathleen Winter (St. Bonaventure, Calgary)
  • Vice-President – Theresa Duncan (St. Paul, Airdrie)
  • Secretary – Gail Poshtar (Holy Spirit, Calgary)
  • Treasurer – Diane Miedema (St. Ambrose, Coaldale)
  • Past President – Renee Spohn (St. Martha's, Lethbridge)
  • Faith Chair – Margaret Inkster (St. Mark's, Calgary)
  • Service Chair – Anthea Berdan (St. Mary's Cathedral, Calgary)
  • Social Justice Chair – Kim Walker (St. Albert the Great, Calgary)
  • Communications Chair – Dorothy Boras (Our Lady of the Assumption, Lethbridge)

Theresa Duncan led the Closing Spiritual and the flags were retired.

The Closing Eucharistic Celebration and Installation of Diocesan Officers were held at St. Bonaventure Parish, 1600 Acadia Drive SE, Calgary; followed by a banquet at the Holiday Inn.

Post-Convention Meeting

The Post-Convention Meeting was held on Sunday, May 6, to deal with business arising from the convention.